Uncertainty just ahead

One Word Inspiration: Uncertainty

Writing101

Surprising how this one word can bring out two exactly opposite feelings in two different people at the same time. While at one hand, it is a source of surprise and excitement, building anticipation of what would come next; on the other hand, it is a sure shot way to send your nerves into doldrums.

We all want to be certain of our lives, want answers and expect to know the outcome beforehand even before we get into an agreement, when we buy something, when we invest, even in a relationship – we all want guarantee, an assurance that things will go a certain way while we carry in our minds the outcome we expect of a situation. But does it work that way? I wish it did, it would take off so much pressure off me. But the answer is no. Life loves to throw googly at us every once in a while and it is up to us, just like a batsman, how we play it.

Me, I love making lists and plan elaborately for a lot of things in my life. I make lists for daily activities (prioritizing them and put them in order), monthly goals, bucket lists, vacation plans, shopping (what I need for my wardrobe and my beauty supplies) only to change it few days later and in some cases on the same day. My daily to-do list is most susceptible to change. Since I am a freelancer now (an outcome of an uncertainty in my life), there are days when I have to change my priorities if one of the clients I work for need something urgently or before deadline, ruining my otherwise perfectly planned day.

While we don’t mind uncertainty when we travel, sometimes even adding that spontaneous plans are the best, why do we get all worked up when it’s about our daily lives? Don’t you think even life, just like travel, will be better if we were to be more spontaneous in responding to the changes rather than worry about the outcome? Just let go and enjoy this journey as well, one that contains beautiful moments, important lessons, strong relationships, enhanced knowledge.

I know, you might be thinking not everything in life can be spontaneous. It is easier said than done and I couldn’t agree more. There are things that need proper planning to ensure that we and our families lead a good life – things like education, career, finances et cetera. But while we are at it, let us not get bogged down by all these.

Be spontaneous, cheerful and embrace the uncertainty in your life. You might be pleasantly surprised!

10 thoughts on “One Word Inspiration: Uncertainty

  1. Agree with all you say. It’s good to have a plan and also to be flexible, but I have had to learn that I need to focus on my own plan and not be diverted by others to their plans. Plan B is the one that comes into play when others don’t meet my expectations…

    Like

  2. “Life loves to throw googly at us every once in a while and it is up to us, just like a batsman, how we play it.”

    What a beautiful way of expressing it.
    I really enjoyed this article and the message you conveyed.

    Have a great day ahead, Komal.

    Anand 🙂

    Like

  3. I think you’ve got the right outlook on uncertainty. I like surprises and twist and turns, but on the other hand I’d be real nervous at having to work freelance. On the other hand, maybe it would be very liberating!

    Like

    1. It is both liberating and scary.. although more scary initially. It took me a long time to come to terms with it..like I was missing out on something while the rest of the world does full time. But everything is fine when you have a loving family to support you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

